Some people believe that the effective way to reduce industrial pollution is to tax the companies which cause these types of pollution. others think that there are other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that imposing new taxes on manufacturing firms would reduce air pollution; meanwhile, there are others who believe in using clever strategies for reduction. I will discuss both views, and personally, I am against the idea of taxation to prevent pollution. In many parts of the world, governments often introduce various taxes to curb rising pollution. Although this is a good opportunity to earn more revenue and improve the environment, however,it is far-fetched from reality. In fact, the industrial zones are an integral part of a country's economy, and imposing taxes could force many industrialists to close and withdraw their investments. This could lead to massive unemployment and a reduction in exports. For example, the Bangladeshi government imposed heavy taxes and restrictions on garment production in order to maximize revenue, but, in the long term its garment sector fell and the exports fell by 50%. On the other hand, there are three significant ways in which pollution can be reduced. Firstly, the research centres should focus on innovating the procedures that are currently in use, for instance, the industries could use solar energy instead of burning coal, this would reduce the carbon emissions to a great extent and improve the quality of air. Secondly, entrepreneurs should be encouraged to produce recycled products instead of manufacturing them from scratch. This can be achieved if the government provide some kind of tax reduction or subsidy. Finally, the authorities should create and impose restrictions on using certain chemicals that are potent for human health. For instance, the Indian government banned the use of lead compounds in petroleum products. This resulted in a reduction of skin and lung diseases nationwide, and they decreased by 80%. To conclude, I don't encourage the idea of increased taxes on the industries, Besides, I recommend using smart and innovative solutions to control and reduce pollution.