In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

In modern life, the values of the arts have long been a heated controversy, attracting tremendous attention from the public. In my opinion, the arts play an obviously vital role in our life, which is impossible to be replaced by science and technology. To begin with, artworks grant their viewers access to diversified perspectives from a more subjective viewpoint than science and technology. While scientific outcomes are mostly generated based on practical evidence from qualitative or quantitative research, artistic masterpieces are created out of people’s creativity and imagination. Taking a pigeon as an example, most scientists may come up with the same description that it is a flying bird with a good sense of navigation whilst different artists may find their unique ways to depict it, including a symbol of peace or a representation of hope. Therefore, as the saying goes, imagination knows no boundary, not only can artists inspire audiences with their limitless originality but also broaden people’s mindsets and outlooks on life. Furthermore, the arts is a literary and artistic heritage, which cannot be mimicked by even the most cutting-edge technology. Renowned old paintings or literature works from previous generations, for instance, are considered as cultural quintessence, which may enlighten the youth about the beauty of their traditions. It is their admiration of these masterpieces that stimulate their endeavour for the preservation of cultural identities. Thus, the arts is undoubtedly an intangible asset that is irreplaceable by any cutting-edge technological device or invention. In the light of the facts mentioned above, it is reasonable to conclude that the arts possess a handful of values that cannot be substituted by modern technology. The advancement in science, hence, is highly recommended to facilitate the conservation of artworks.