Nowadays many young people spend their free time in shopping centers. This has a negative effect on youths and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most of the younger generation these days, are seen to be spending more time in malls and shopping centres. Does this benefit youngsters, and the public at large? Undoubtedly, I personally believe that it is harmful to do so. Whereas, this essay will elaborate further as to why excess time spent on shopping is not beneficial. To begin with, this time could have been invested in something worthwhile. For instance, university students spend hours in these centres, which could have been used to do some academic work, like research. Moreover, this would eventually lead to early drop-offs at schools and colleges, leading to a social issue of low literacy rate. Therefore, unnecessary time spent in such places does not bring any benefit to the nation. In addition to the above, large sums of money are wasted on shopping. For example, prices of clothing and other items, are relatively high in such places. Thus, people spending unwantedly is definitely unacceptable, and does not do any good to the youngsters, or even to their families. Thus, if these amounts are spent on things like buying books or even charity is indeed worthwhile. In conclusion, it can be said, although, a number of people, especially teens, spending their time wandering in shopping centres is definitely not encouraging. Also, there is little or rather, no positives to society. Furthermore, it is the responsibility of elders to guide their children to use their free time in a fruitful manner, instead of wasting it on doing shopping.