In most of the countries, people prefer to live in a rented apartment rather than buying a home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in rented accommodation?

People across the globe, immigrate to different countries or cities in search of jobs or to pursue their higher education and this trend has increased the demand for housing. The majority of the crowd prefer to rent an apartment than to invest in their own house for various reasons. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of renting an apartment than buying a new house. People who are migrating to a new place for work or education may find it convenient to stay in an apartment as the rents are comparatively low. For instance, a group of students can rent an apartment and share the debts among them which would help them save money. Also, the working professionals will have an option to choose the apartment which is close to their workplace to reduce the travel time. Hence, they could better utilise this time for other activities like physical fitness or simply spending time with their families to achieve a better work-life balance. Though there are various advantages of living in a rented apartment there are some disadvantages as well. Firstly, a huge amount of the earnings need to be spent on the rentals and there are no returns in this case. Instead, one could buy a new house and pay the monthly instalments which will be an asset for the future. Secondly, apartments may have restrictions and the tenants need to follow the decisions made by their community though they do not like it. For example, most of the apartments are not pet friendly and one may not be allowed to have any pets. To conclude, though apartments are convenient and affordable, the amount spent on rentals are not an investment and there could be restrictions as well. So one has been wise in choosing the right type of accommodation as shelter is one of the basic needs for a peaceful living.