Some people say that it’s better to teach language students in small classes, whereas others think the number of people does not matter. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is important to teach language in any educational system. Although some people argue that language classes ought to include a few numbers of students, others believe that the number of students is not significant. I, personally, support the former view. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and why I believe that small classes are better. On one hand, some people insist that the number of students in classes does not have a huge impact on efficiency because language teaching mainly depends on rote learning and after-class practices. Students should study at home to memorize vocabulary by heart as well as study the grammar by solving exercises. Moreover, they are required to communicate with their classmates or people who have good conduct in the language for better conversation. Of course, even in small classes, if the students did not practise the language outside the school setting, their progress would be slower than their peers who did. In this respect, school is not the perfect place to practise the language, therefore the size of the class does not necessarily influence the students. On the one hand, another group of people, as well as I, recommend limiting the number of students in language classes will largely achieve the learning target. This is because the pupils' concentration would be better which makes the class more efficient. Therefore, they would be able to obtain more information and have better communication with their classmates and teachers. For example, in a study conducted in the USA, when the class contained less than 20 students, their control of language was far better than those in classes with more students. If the students are not able to concentrate, they may give up and hate the language. Thus, I believe that small classes will help the students pay more attention and will be able to excel in learning the language. In conclusion, although some people believe that it is not necessary to teach language in small classes because the practice outside school premises is more crucial to develop their language, I still think that small classes are important to teach language skills as it provides better concentration and teachers can help students overcome their weaknesses.