Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, numerous people opt to work on their own as opposed to being employees in a company or organization. In my opinion, a wide variety of strict rules and the limitation of income within an organization or a company discourage people from being an employee. I am also convinced that going bankrupt and paying taxes can be the drawbacks of freelancing. It is my view that a fixed salary may cause serious problems for employees. They are restricted by a certain amount of money which is paid on a regular basis. Many employees find it difficult to make ends meet and cover their expenses. For example, in Iran, the price of housing, food and clothes are escalating alarmingly day to day. Consequently, if you are an employee who earns a fixed salary, you will be never able to manage your expenses. Furthermore, employees have to conform to special rules that are enforced by their organizations or companies. For instance, certain working hours and dress codes are of paramount importance in such offices. I further believe that freelancing has its own difficulties. First, in some countries, economic recession may lead to the bankruptcy of businesses. They fail to make sufficient profits, and in turn, should change their work. Therefore, freelancers would face job insecurity and financial issues. Additionally, since you have your own business, you are compelled to pay taxes to the government. In some cases, self-employed people should pay around 50% of their revenue for taxes. In conclusion, strict rules in workplaces and receiving a fixed salary are the reasons for choosing self-employed jobs. From my perspective, heavy taxes and going bankrupt are two downsides of freelancing.