A country becomes more interesting and develops more quickly when its population includes a mixture of nationalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because of transportation innovations, an increasing number of people emigrate to other countries. However, whether an increasing diversity of cultures improve might nations development or this trend might cause social problems is up to debate. In the following essay, I will explain why I believe that although some social problems can attribute to immigration with different cultural backgrounds, increasing cultural diversity does help the country develop a lot. It is often argued that the increase in immigration might cause tension between the local people and new coming residents. This is because people who have different cultural backgrounds, such as different religions and traditions, might have some behaviours which are unacceptable to local people. For example, there was news about Chinese students asking the British University to adjust the winter vacation; hence they could celebrate the lunar new year. However, benefits brought by people who immigrated from other countries should also be considered. Firstly, people who grow in a multicultural environment are more likely to adapt to the changes. Since people with different cultural backgrounds have many different traditions, people living in multicultural societies used to be familiar with a diversity of cultures, enhancing their ability to accept new ideas. Having an open mind to new trends is necessary for a quickly developed country. Secondly, an open immigration policy brings new techniques and talents from other countries. For instance, Indians are well known for their good calculation ability and programming skills, Chinese are good at business fields, and Africans have great physical conditions. By accepting people from different nations, a country can get more talented people. Moreover, they can help to develop these skills in local communities. In conclusion, the tension between different races might cause conflicts and social problems; nevertheless, advantages, such as the broader horizons and skills brought by foreigners should also be considered.