Children are facing more pressure nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspective. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

It is hardly deniable that children of generation Z are under more stress than their counterparts of the previous one. While there are numerous reasons behind this the phenomenon, some measures can be adopted to mitigate the harmful effects of these pressures. To begin with, there are two major sources of stress: rising standards of academia and peer pressure. Each passing year, the world of academia is becoming an arena of ruthless and cut-throat competition. Students are finding it increasingly demanding to get a seat in the Ivey league or even mediocre universities. Apart from rigorous academic demands, these schools now demand an impressive record of extra-curricular activities too. In order to meet such impossible demands, Students are often pushed to their limits and have to contend with immense pressure. For instance, students in oriental countries like South Korea, China, and Japan study on an average of eighteen hours per day. Another cause of stress is peer pressure. Now, more than ever, students experience the compulsion to conform with their friends. This means they spend more time on social media platforms and try to be "cool".It is no secret that social media and the fear of being ostracized by the online community engenders anxiety in them. Nevertheless, there are a few countermeasures that should be adopted to ameliorate students ' stress. First, the ridiculously impossible standards of Academics should be lowered. Rather, a balanced approach is needed in all levels of education. This will help students avoid exhaustion and they might even perform better because of it. Second, support groups and counselling should be made available to all students to help combat their problems. We cannot eliminate social media from their lives but we can ensure that they have the tools to deal with their inner turmoil. Last, one hour a day must be reserved for mediation and yoga. This again will help them relax and increase their mental fortitude. If these measures are realised, then there will be a tangible positive change in these students ' lives. To conclude, the lives of students is rife with academic and social demands that have left them enervated and anxious. Although there are many reasons that contribute to this stress, effective implementation of the solutions mentioned above will go a long way in improving the state of affairs.