There is evidence that inhalting cigarette smoke causes health problems not only for smokers but for non-smokers who inhale other people’s smoke. In view of this, smoking should be banned in all public places, even though this would restrict some people’s freedom of action. What are your views?

The history of smoking dates back to as early as 5000 BC in the Americas in Shamanistic rituals. Smoking is a problem because it has an impact not only on the smoker health but also on others around. Considering that, it is believed that smoking should be prohibited in public places. This essay will explain briefly why it could be an advantage if smoking is banned in all public places and what would be the consequences. First of all, there are outside public places that have enough space and air to have smokers without affecting the non-smoker's well-being. For example, a public garden shouldn’t have the same restriction as a museum. In my point of view it is important to have some non-smoking areas but applying this rule to every public place would create a big frustration and anxiety on the smokers. On the other hand, finding a balance between non- smokers and smokers areas is very important. Smokers cannot be banished from every public place but they have the responsibility to respect the restricted zones and the others. Giving another example, in hospitals and schools it should be a major concern to protect de sick and the children without damaging them with smoke. A teacher or a doctor can smoke in designated areas without affecting the patients and students. To summarize, smoking is a real issue that concerns all of us but forbidding it without resolving the problem first would cause more problems than resolving them.