Life now is better than it was 100 years ago To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over 100 years, there has been a myriad of changes across the globe. While there are some positive shifts, there are also negative implications. In this essay, I will discuss what are the advantages and disadvantages of these changes and explain why I think we have a better life than those in the past. To begin with, technological advancement brought a better lifestyle for people. Firstly, people around the world are now able to enjoy faster, more efficient, and more convenient lives than before. For instance, people now can explore anywhere they have never been to with help of navigation. They go straight to their destinations without being lost because the machine even finds roads that are not crowded and lets people travel without traffic jams. Moreover, all works of people have better opportunities to make their dreams come true. In other words, students are given chances to study abroad and entrepreneurs can expand their business overseas. These examples clearly demonstrate that technological development provides people with a better lifestyle. On the other hand, social changes contributed to progressing technologies also produced pernicious outcomes. First of all, competitions between people increasingly become fierce as they have rivals on an international scale. As a result, people pay less attention to the process of competitions but more to results, which negatively impacts mutual relationships. Second of all, people feel lonely more than ever before. Despite people being connected to social networks including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, they do not have sound and robust relations with offline people. Statistics on mental health issues conducted by the Australian government represents that how badly people are depressed these days. Therefore, people are confronted with some issues associated with technological development. To sum up, the advancement of technologies brought both beneficial and malign aspects to society. However, as advantages of social changes take precedence over disadvantages, I strongly agree that we have a better life than people 100 years ago.