Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is undeniable that advanced technology, such as the internet, computers and smartphones, bring plenty of convenience to individual daily life and people can complete various things via them. Therefore, some people believe public museums and art galleries are unnecessary to exist anymore, as they can enjoy artefacts and works just sitting in front of a screen. Admittedly, watching these objects online is really convenient for average people, since they can enjoy them anywhere and anytime only if they have a computer connected with Wifi. Also, observing the details of the artefact that appeals to them is more possible, because there is no time limitation and observers can even enlarge and rotate the pictures. More fortunately, this method is often free or much cheaper than visiting museums or galleries in person to pay for an admission ticket. However, this online approach can not satisfy everyone’s enthusiasm for artefacts and art works, especially for some professionals. For them, those objects contain rich historical values as well as touching stories and thus they need to focus on not only their appearances but also the texture and skills. In addition, professional collection space is also a kind of preservation for art works, where the temperature and moisture controlled by technicians are constant. Thus admission fares are an indispensable way to create profits to maintain the special conditions required by the historical objects and those workers. In conclusion, I do not agree that enjoying precious artefacts and art works online can completely replace doing offline, so both have their own meanings to exist to meet the needs of different kinds of lovers.