In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With enhanced healthcare facilities, people live longer than in the past. Although it is true that the increased number of elderly population, brings some drawbacks for governments this phenomenon has pros and cons. It is my belief that the positive effects of this occurrence could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks to the growing ageing population. The first one is that the elderly citizen demographic is related to healthcare expenses especially for those with low income. Additionally, governments are compelled to allocate a significant amount of money to the infrastructure of old-age homes for those unable to care for themselves due to age-related illnesses. Similarly, other negative aspects are related to the non-inclusion of this group in the workforce and expenses of retirement pensions causing funding problems. In spite of these negative effects, however, an increase in this group’s population might bring important benefits as well. One obvious advantage is the job prospects in the health sector. Since it leads to an increased demand for healthcare staff, people may hold more esteem towards workers in this sector. For this reason, with increased salaries, this sector could contribute to an expansion in Gross Demand Production. From a sentimental perspective, another positive effect is that, in most cases, we can benefit from their experiences and wisdom. Moreover, the fact that in many cases grandparents dedicate themselves to raising their grandchildren, thereby facilitating the ability of parents to work. To sum up, although it seems to people that an increase in the elderly population poses challenges for governments. It is clear that, it has more benefits than disadvantages.