In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that some communities are suffering from an increase in criminal activities from teenagers. While some people propose that young persons should be charged and penalised under the adult system, I believe that, even though the severity of trial should be intensified for such crimes, teenagers should not be given adult discipline. On the one hand, young persons who commit crimes should receive an intensified trial but this should be inspired by a developmental framework. This is because it is very important for the criminals to understand the scale of emotional, physical and financial damage they have inflicted through their acts, which can be materialised using specific punishments. For instance, a younger person could be made to pay for the costs of damage caused as a consequence of their actions. As a result of the mentioned constructive approach, some people might contemplate their efforts and reduce their engagement in this area. On the other hand, I opine that punishments that teenagers receive should always be considerate of age. The reason for this is, such punishments will put them in the category of adults, which will mean that they accompany mature age prisoners, and are perceived as the same by the public, which would prove to be very detrimental for their future when they come out. For example, a young offender may find it very difficult to procure a job due to the opinion created by the public on the basis of their punishment. In contrast, If the young persons are given positive rehabilitation away from the non-juvenile methods of penalisation, they may be able to make a fresh start to their life. To conclude, although the severity of the punishment could be ramped up to generate realisations in the offenders regarding their crime, I believe that this should always be mindful of the age and the future impact on the person.