It is too expensive to look after and repair old building. This money should be spent on building modern building instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is undeniably true that major cities around the world are developing. There is an argument that investors should only focus on investing in new buildings whereas advocates disapproval of these ideas believe that old constructions should be invested in for restoration. Although historical buildings have the educational meaning to preserve, I would support the idea that modern ones can meet the contemporary needs and make the most of the city space. On the one hand, supporters of preserving old constructions think that these types of buildings can provide profound stories of the city. Ancient houses which were built in the past are a great example of a local history. By visiting buildings such as churches, town halls and city councils, visitors can have a sound understanding of what livelihood looked like in the past. For example, in a prestigious high school called Fuzhong school in China, students are taken to visit the old river dam for a science excursion, which enables them to understand how ancient people controlled the river flow. However, I support the opinion that the investment should be put into constructing more modern buildings to meet the needs of today's people. On the other hand, it is suggested that investment should be focusing on contemporary constructions solely as they serve modern needs and use the city space wisely. Thanks to the advancement of architecture and urban design, new buildings can now meet various needs at the same time, which optimised the usage of land in a very effective way. Taking the 88 Sky Deck which located in the Melbourn CBD as an example, the high-rise building accommodates more than a hundred apartments and 50 more small businesses all at the same time, it even offers underground car parking for all tenants. Therefore, investing in modern construction is more feasible. In conclusion, maintaining historical buildings has its meaning for educating people, whereas I support the idea that investors should put their money into building more new ones.