Cities are becoming overcrowded. What are the causes of this situation, and what can be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays, it is widely recognized that cities are becoming overpopulated, traffic jam is a daily nightmare for citizens, and cars are releasing so much smoke that it is barely possible to breathe clean air in urban jungles. This essay will explain the main reasons for this situation, and propose some key solutions to palliate to this issue. First and foremost, the reason for this situation is twofold. Firstly, it is undeniable that cities offer a wide range of possibilities, such as economic perspectives, more job offers and better health facilities compared to villages. Consequently, more and more rural citizens take the path to move to urban regions, with the aim of enhancing their quality of life. Secondly, high rates of natality and rapid urbanization have led to the enlargement of thousands of towns, China for example has now more than 20 cities with more than 10 million inhabitants. On the other hand, a myriad of solutions is available to improve this situation. The government should endeavour to create more job opportunities in rural regions, by encouraging entrepreneurs to invest in those areas. Furthermore, politicians should plan a new development model based on the social aspects particularly, by creating more hospitals and new sports facilities for inhabitants of villages for instance. The propositions aforementioned, if they are ever implemented, will certainly make villagers reluctant to the idea of leaving their homes for a metropolis To sum up, countries are facing the dangers of overcrowded towns such as pollution. However, several propositions can be applied to fix this matter.