Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. What extend do you agree or diagree with the opinion?

It is argued that to minimise international tension and to show patriotism well-known sporting events such as the football world cup, Olympics and other international tournaments can play a vital role. I strongly agree with this statement because this will help two different nations to be united and people can show their love and respect to countries by winning trophies. Any international tournament can bring countries together. When there is an event, the whole world look at that and players from different countries can build brotherhoods. For example, 1936 Olympics, although there was tension between Germany and other nations, athletes from all over the globe travelled to Munich. However, in some cases, we have seen fights between supporters only, but these unexpected events are very few compared to the bonding. Winning a medal for the beloved country may give pride and honour. If a person wants to repay his or her motherland, sports events can be the second most prestigious after the military. We see different sportsmen present their feelings differently after they do something remarkable. For instance, the legendary Indian cricketer player, Mr Rahuld Dravid, used to kiss the Indian monogram on his kit or helmet. Moreover, it is not only him but there are other athletes around the globe who do similar activities. Nonetheless, sometimes there are some players who show disrespectful activities after losing a game. In most cases, this happens because of the frustration of loss. In conclusion, a tournament-winning releases patriotic emotions from players and any major world tournament bring states closer. I personally it is very much essential.