Many school children today take part in work experience sessions for short periods of time instead of attending school. Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days children have a number of activities to become occupied with. While some people think that it is a positive development for young children to take part in practical activity sessions instead of going to school, others think it has a negative impact. In this essay, I will be discussing the positive impact of this. There are two primary reasons for this. To begin with, the important advantage of enrolling youths into work experience sessions is that they inculcate the habit of learning to work practically rather than just focusing on their studies. Moreover, practical exposure helps teenagers to learn and understand various aspects effectively and efficiently. For instance, a recent study done in India showed that students who participated in task experience activities understood the concepts better than those who only concentrated on school education. As a result of which it contributes towards their personal growth. Further and even more, another benefit for the kids to do part-time work is that they learn to become independent from a very young age. Hence, they inculcate the habit of managing their own day to day expenditure without being dependent on their parents and elders. For example, many children have started to do part-time jobs such as a waiter, cashier to name a few and start earning from a young age and this brings in them a sense of responsibility. Subsequently, they utilize the money they earn for their tuition fees or other expenses. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position stating that, although attending school is important for teenagers, it is more necessary for parents to enrol kids into experienced sessions as it helps in their positive development by making them more independent.