Nowadays many people choose ready-made food and refuse to cook at home, why and what are the advantages/disadvantages?

In today's fast-paced world, most working people hardly find enough time to manage their daily chores. Therefore, instead of cooking their own meals at home, many are opting for convenience foods. Although there are benefits of ready-made food in terms of efforts, these products could be a reason for deteriorating health for many. In urban areas, in particular, people who usually spend hours at work and travel find this packaged food convenient as they save considerable time. Not only are these products really easy to use, but also highly tasty which could provide great relief to those who do not know cooking. Ready-to-heat bread which is readily available in the market these days saves significant time and effort in kneading and fermenting the dough. In spite of these advantages, there are two distinct disadvantages of these ready-made items in relation to health. Firstly, ready-made products are usually packed with a high amount of preservatives for a longer shelf-life. Studies have shown that harmful chemicals used to preserve items such as juices and curries have proven to be carcinogenic in nature and could cause severe heart-related complications in the long run. Secondly, in order to appeal to the tastebuds of consumers, taste enhancers are included in increased proportion. In addition to the prime ingredients, they could also contain a large amount of oil, sugar or salt, excessive use of which could have a damaging effect on the wellbeing of the consumers. In conclusion, convenience food could be beneficial for people who cannot afford to spend more hours in the kitchen. However, these foodstuff items contain preservatives and chemicals to improve taste that could be detrimental to one's health.