Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that going to college for academic purposes is the best choice, whereas other students decide to follow a different path which is attending vocational training courses. In my opinion, I believe that entering an institute is a better choice for all the students after graduating their high school. The first reason for this is that studying at an academy can help postgraduates to find a job with a more attractive salary. This could be explained by the fact that the labour market is becoming more competitive, and students who own a university degree from an accredited institute are more likely to be contacted for a job interview. For that reason, it could lead to an opportunity for bachelors to show interviewers their expertise or soft skills such as public speaking, teamwork, negotiation and so on. As a result, chances for them to negotiate the expected salary is higher than those who don’t have a bachelor degree. The second reason why entering university is a better option is that students can move up their career ladders easier. The explanation for this is that they are well prepared with a variety of specialised skills which support them to perform tasks effectively in order to achieve their goals. If they achieve their targets successfully, they can be promoted by their superiors. On the contrary, vocational education only provides students with a single technique to operate a single task. As a result, they are not multitasking enough to be given a higher role in an organization. In conclusion, after finishing high school, students should follow a college course in order to obtain a higher income and achieve a better position in a company. Thus, it is better to graduate from the university rather than from vocational training.