Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. Why is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

It is true that several young children have been imposed countless pressure by their parents. As far as I am concerned, two main reasons such as a situation can be explained and several negative impacts anticipated. Firstly, the pressure is originated from the imbalance between a large amount of population and limited educational and social resources, especially in metropolises and developing countries. Therefore, in order to ensure the children can access good-quality resources, the children must be not only eligible but stronger enough in this competitive selection with excellent performance. Secondly, high expectation from parents about prefect life is another significant factor. As cherish of parents, children have also carried a wish from their parents that to be successful and to be perfect. Thus, parents are likely to pay high investment on children to achieve a better life in the future, from higher school grades to extracurricular activities such as dancing, instruments and second languages. Those in-class and out-class activities certainly push pressure on children. On the other hand, being imposed more pressure is detrimental to youngsters’ mental well-being. The reason is that if youths are forced to do several tasks that they are not passionate about constantly, they will feel stressed and anxious, causing extreme detriments to their mental health. As an illustration, a vast majority of students who receive extra tuition after school hours present that their parents impose them to attend extra classes to excel a wonderful academic result, so they are less more likely to relax, which causes that they suffer from depression. To recapitulate, I think success is not always linked with good grades and money, hence, society, both parents and the educational system may need to offer more space and options for the children to develop their own interests.