Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

In recent years, a handful of youngsters is into worldwide pop or movie stars rather than prominent historical people of their own nation and this seems to be an increasingly common trend in many parts of the world. This worrying trend could be attributable to some causes, which must require several approaches to tackle. From my perspective, there are a number of rational explanations for this pressing issue that cannot be neglected. First and foremost, the dominant reason would be that they can effortlessly get access to music and movies from other nations so it contributes to making almost all young folks be both curious and appeal to alien cultures. For instance, nowadays, the young generation all over the world is inclined to follow KPOP stars or bands, such as BTS and Blackpink. In addition, another leading factor would be that, in this day and age, history is unessential to their future so there is a common perception that they need not pay attention to history. Thus, they have limited knowledge about famous people in history. However, only by taking decisive measures to address this problem, can its adverse effects be eliminated. Initially, the most effective method would be that schools ought to organise several trips to the historical destination, including several mausoleums. Hence, it could promote learning and memory of all the events and renowned historical figures. Furthermore, another potential approach would be that the combination of entertaining and educational movies would probably make students more stick easily, which could account for being less likely to be sick to death of history. To demonstrate, filmmakers can shoot films associated with history to propaganda more about the former country at war. The conclusion to be drawn is that although there are several factors leading to this phenomenon whose consequences are far-reaching, they could be alleviated by a range of solutions.