In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, in most areas of the world, teenagers are not really up to date with news, as they avoid buying newspapers and watching the news on TV. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this growing problem, such as the difficult language used in newspapers and the use of social media and explore possible solutions like youth magazines. To begin with, teens may avoid newspapers since they often use complex vocabulary. For instance, this could prevent teens from fully understanding the meaning of the article they are reading and may also result in young people considering worldwide news as dull. Another reason why teenagers do not follow worldwide developments may be that they spend too much time on social networks. These days, the use of social networks and instant chatting services has become the major form of entertainment for young adults. For example, children will prefer to communicate with their friends on platforms such as Facebook and Twitter rather than read about current events on the news. One solution to this growing problem could be the creation of youth-centred magazines, which could describe and explain these topics to young adults in a more interesting way using the lingo they would understand. In this way, teenagers would be encouraged to read articles as they would understand what is written, and they would not regard this activity as a waste of time. A second solution can be making teens aware of the existence of many online platforms. For example, YouTube includes lots of videos and explanations about the current political and economic situation. Since the majority of these websites are made for young adults, by using them, they could solve the problem of the extreme dullness of conventional journals. In conclusion, newspapers do not really fit young people’s needs in terms of being simple and interesting. Therefore, the use of magazines and online platforms focused on a younger audience should make the news appealing to them.