Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The advent of information technology has infiltrated in people’s daily life whether it is used at home, at leisure or at work, and it appears to be more advantageous. From my point of view, I believe that information technology is more positive and beneficial in our lives, but we should also consider the drawbacks. To begin with, information technology provides more convenient and feasible ways of life and communications in our work, study, relaxing time or even at home. First and foremost, this technology enables students to continue their planning under urgent circumstances. For instance, due to the spread of epidemic diseases such as COVID-19, many international or local students are unable to go to schools, while some universities conduct various online courses and offer digital materials based on information technology. Hence, thanks to this technology, we can still proceed with our studies regardless of our locations. Additionally, technology allows businesses without ever meeting each other, thus they can have worldwide collaboration approximately, reaching higher achievements. In our social life, services like WeChat and Facebook create new possibilities for relationships, strengthening our bonds without face-to-face meetings in our leisure time. Nevertheless, individual privacy and security are the main threats to information technology whether at home, work or leisure time. An increased number of hackers allows us to fall into a trap in terms of information leakage. For instance, some entertainment websites are baits in order to hack personal information. Blackmailing is also a typical concern when we take advantage of information technology, and this definitely enables our lives in danger. In conclusion, information technology makes a positive change in our lives from several perspectives, while we still need to consider the potential drawbacks.