Road accidents are more frequent these days and claim many lives each year. As a result, some people suggest that drivers should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single driving test, to improve the situation. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of repeat driving tests? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many lives have been killed by accidents on the highway as this is happening frequently in present days. Therefore, some would argue that for the betterment of the scenario a regular driving assessment should be imposed on the drivers instead of only one test at the beginning. I am convinced that the benefits of this statement will outweigh the negatives because although a frequent refresher course will have a higher cost and extra workload to the authorities, it will help to prevent mistakes by motorists because of their bad driving habits. One of the major disadvantages of a regular driving test is that it will create a huge workload for the Road Transport Authorities. If we add some new candidates with newcomers, the figure becomes high and the present workforce might not be able to evaluate them in time. As a result, this will create a huge backlog. Moreover, another disadvantage is that it will impose an additional cost and some poor individuals may not be able to pay every year. For instance, Bangladesh Road Transport Authority (BRTA) has been dealing with a huge number of applicants and with the limited number of,resources they do not want permit holders to come back again. However, these problems can be solved easily by creating more employment and giving incentives. Therefore, it might be a good practice to have a refresher driving test because it will reduce emergencies and build confidence among drivers. The main advantage of a renewed driving license procedure is that it will help to reduce highway mishaps due to the driver's mistakes. Sometimes when people drive for a longer time, they inherit some evil habits which cause drive hazards and a new exam by the authorities will identify these weaknesses, and guidance can be given. For example, in Malaysia, the number of expressway disaster were mountains in the 1990s and the Government restructured the whole driving license procedure by imposing 'P' for the learner for two years and after that drivers need to attain a refresher exam which has reduced road accidents by seventy per cert. Thus, it can be said that the new exam can protect lives. In conclusion, though renewal of license every year might be costly and it can work tremendous pressure on the Government, it is the best solution authority can pass to protect citizens from unexpected death and the outcome of the solution has more benefits than drawbacks.