Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Choosing a university major is one of the most important decisions in the entire life. Some argue that young people should take a study path which will prepare them for high-paying careers. Personally, I strongly disagree and I believe, it is more important to study something that is correlated with one's abilities and interests. Firstly, choosing a major that one is passionate about and want to develop within can have a knock-on effect on future fulfilment and happiness contrary to taking the path that will prepare for a lucrative job. People spend a sheer part of their lives working, thus, it is much better to spend this time doing something that one enjoys rather than waiting till the end of the workday with impatience. To illustrate it more, a farmer who loves his job has probably more satisfaction than a lawyer who, even though earn significantly more money and can afford to buy a luxury house and brand-new cars, is bored with his job and it makes him depressed. What is more, doing something ones do not like can have detrimental effects, such as depression, lack of fulfilment and even escaping into addictions. Thus, passion and hobbies should be key factors contributing to the choice of a university major. Another important factor is that taking up a job that seemed to be low-paid can turn out to be a greatly prospering business. The more passion and effort put into work, the higher probability of becoming a specialist with high rates. Baby sitter, for instance, when is devoted to the job and spend extra time learning how to take care of children with special needs, in the aftermath of being one of the best baby sitters, parents will pay her plenty of money. Also, a talented hairdresser can finally establish their own salon or even train others and make much more money than everyone could expect. Therefore, no matter, what university major has been chosen, every job can give plenty of money, if it is connected with the field of one's interests. In conclusion, the effects of university major choice manifest in live fulfilment and ability to devote to the job, thus it should be taken carefully. A potential vision of a wealthy life may be tempting however, I wholeheartedly concur that, what can bring real happiness and convenient life in the matter of financial condition as well as inner health, is doing something with passion and love.