In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, there has been an increase of the number of students which are studying abroad as the opportunities are expanding. First of all, the main advantage of studying abroad is that it is possible for students to gain more skills and knowledge. Since, students are living apart from their family in a different country, they might learn to have more responsibilities. In addition, they are learning to search things out on their own. For instance, if they want to travel through the country, they should at first search how the public transport works there. Secondly, with studying abroad students could meet new people and also make ne friends. Because of creating new friendships from students that are living in a foreign country, they might also learn about new cultures. On the other hand, there are also some negatives on studying abroad. Since, everything is new for the student, it could lead to a culture shock. For example, Dutch people are more likely to answer directly to the question they would receive. This can be confusing for people from other countries, because they are not used to this. Furthermore, when students are moving to another land they presumably move to big cities as the large universities are often in big cities. Therefore, the living could be expensive for the student. Especially, when that person is willing to live on its own, without roommates. In my opinion, it is important that students are aware of negatives, before they move. Because I think most of the time people will only talk about the positives and this could to a shock. However, it could also be a lifetime experience.