Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In the last few decades, there has been an increase in problems related to the environment. Although some people believe that the best way to limit the issues is to increase the cost of fuels for vehicles and promote environmental eco-friendly vehicles, while others believe that those who need vehicles will use them regardless of fuel prices. This essay will discuss in detail and explain why I think, increasing the price of fuel is not the only solution. Firstly, increasing the cost of fuel will lead to a hike in the prices of food products. For example, wholesalers use vehicles to transport their food and other products to their store location. This leads to an increase in service tax by the sellers including transportation charges and thus an increase in the cost price of the product. Also, the government should promote e-bikes and bicycles rentals as they are more eco-friendly and cheaper than public transport. Hence, an increase in the cost of fuel will not resolve the environmental problem permanently. Secondly, people who are rich can still pay the higher prices for the fuel whereas the middle and lower class people do get impacted due to the prices. Rather than increasing the prices, the government should set up awareness campaigns for the public so that citizens understand the environmental issues and learn different ways to limit them. Campaigns like, promoting the use of electric vehicles, providing subsidies on purchasing them or interest-free loans on eco-friendly vehicles. To sum up, the above problems cannot be dealt with individually but needs collective effort from the government and the public. Therefore, I certainly think that there are other better methods to resolve the environmental issues rather than increasing the fuel prices.