Some people feel that it is necessary to test new medicines on animals, while other people feel that this is not fair on animals and not necessary. Discuss both views ad give your opinion.

There is popular discussion about medicine development and whether it is important to exercise new drugs on animals and others think it is unfair to perform medicine testing on animals. From my point of view, I believe it would bring more benefits for the pharmacy companies and people who consume the drugs for treatment as long the medicine testing towards animals was executed in a responsible way. First of all, testing new drugs on animals could provide a prediction of the medicine's reliability to cure and also the potential side effects, especially for an animal that has similar characteristics to humans. Through the testing, it could give some insight to the researcher about the ability to cure and also the risk to the human body as a reference to improving the medicine quality before it is released for commercial purposes. It would provide higher assurance for the users about the benefits of the medicine and the restriction's usage. Also, it would protect the pharmacist and the company from potential lawsuits in the future because the medicine was developed in an appropriate way, including testing on the animal phase. However, the testing process should be executed responsibly following the applied regulations, such as proper dosage testing, consideration of the reproduction ability also provides recovery treatment when the animal feels sick. However, there is an opinion that medicine testing on animals is unethical action and not essential for drug development. This action could be categorised as abusive action because the animals used as living creatures are subject to being tested for harmful substances. Furthermore, it could bring unpredictable effects to the animals with the worst risk being death. Also, it is arguably unnecessary since animals have different characteristics from human bodies, so the testing could bring inaccurate results then it becomes useless testing. In conclusion, medicine testing on animals still has an important function since it provides many advantages other than drawbacks. However, the researcher should execute it properly following the standards and also considering the effects that potentially affect the animals.