Essay Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that highly processed food and drinks containing a great amount of sugar have brought a siginificant impact on people’ health. Some believe that we should raise the price of sugary products in order to solve this problem. This essay will discuss why I disagree with that since it is not an efficient way and may cause more serious issues. It is said that more costly products often affect the sale in a negative way, however, it may not be an effective solution in terms of changing people’s habits. Like the price of cigarettes gradually increases every year by the government that is dedicated to building a smoke-free society. However, some reports have shown that it doesn’t really prevent people from smoking. On the contrary, heavy smokers spend less on other things and still purchase cigarretes as usual. Therefore, raising the price of sugary items probably doesn’t make the major population eat healthier, and instead affects some people’s diets negatively. Many would agree that increasing the price of specific food benefits a certain group of the population and deprives others’ choices. If we raise the price of sugary products to promote a healthier diet, it is possibly not going to influence rich people, on the other hand, lead to a terrible consequence that poor people may buy sugary products illegally. The black market of sugar definitely causes more problems relating to health and society. Thus, I consider this is not a brilliant method regarding decreasing the consumption of sugary food and drinks. Growing issues linking to the over-intake of the sugary products affect the populace's health considerably in many countries. From my perspective, adjusting the price of food and drinks can’t effectively reduce health-related problems and may produce other negative issues in our society.