Some people say that public libraries should be free; otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the internet allow easy access to resources. Discuss and give your point of view.

In this ever-changing world, a suitable environment for people to focus on their work and study is considered to be crucial, thus, copious individuals choose public libraries. Some people say that those places should be available to everyone as it would be a waste of money, while others think they should be charged a fee. From my point of view, I am convinced that libraries should be open freely to the public. On the one hand, it is true to say that the entrance fee is essential as it will support the maintenance of facilities, books and pay the employees. Library seems to be appropriate for the one who is in desire of a quiet atmosphere and shifts the daily background of studying which may motivate them to work productively. Therefore, a plethora of people come here day by day which leads to the need of money to maintain the facility and books as well as the salary for the librarians. Nevertheless, those fees need to be suitable for most people, especially students. On the other hand, spending money for a library entrance seems to be unnecessary and unprofitable. Firstly, excluding the entrance’s money, to some extent, may encourage citizens to come and read more. Information and education ought to be accessible to everybody, for instance, the undergraduate pupils who are unable to pay for the fees but want to search for knowledge for the school's projects. Not to mention the fact that while modern technology is more and more popular to us, we can access the information more easily on the Internet without going to the library. Consequently, spending an amount of money for a library membership card is useless. All things considered, it is my opinion that libraries in public should be free as to save money and bring knowledge to people around, despite the fact that that amount of cash is needed for facility maintenance.