Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In this age and day, high sugary proportion in food and drink products can bring about many problems relating to human health. Consequently, there are more arguments that manufacturer should change their products into costly merchandise to mitigate the amount of sugary consumption. In my viewpoint, I am in both agreement and disagreement with this opinion. On the one hand, this idea can be a good tendency because as the consumer psychology, when something is expensive to afford, individuals do not have the ability to buy or tend to feel regret to spend money on it; therefore, the limitation would be set to reduce the purchasing ability of sugary snacks. After a duration of time, the habit of eating sweet food and drink would be eased and as a result, people might be prevented from the risk of being harmed by several diseases. Moreover, the seller can have more profit if products can be sold due to their high cost. On the other hand, sweet food or refreshments play a vital role in multiple parties such as weddings or birthdays. Hardly ever do any meetings lack of sweets or desserts. Besides, they are particularly worthy with children. Due to the interest in sugary food of the children, it does wonder for some parents in helping their offspring take in medicine or eat. In case these products are high-priced, citizens find them hard to afford and it would be such a real inconvenience, especially for those who have poor conditions. What is more, as for the manufacturer, if the product can not be consumed, they have to face the risk of capital loss or even bankruptcy. Overall, as the analysis I have made above, there is an obvious basis for me to conclude that the movement of increasing the price of sugary products to diminish sugar consumption which leads to health problems should be encouraged yet is still limited.