Some people say that public libraries should be free; otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the internet allow easy access to resources. Discuss and give your point of view. Opinion, for and against essay

The library is always an important part of life as it provides education and knowledge for everyone, especially students and scholars. Though, some claim that libraries would be useless if it requires payment because these days, technology can help people to access a variety of sources. Nonetheless, the money can be used to supply more quality, informational books and pay for services. Personally, I support the idea that libraries should be free. To begin with, the charges that users pay to public libraries are almost entirely spent on their benefits like services with librarians and cleaners, providing them the best place to enjoy the books. Library is an absolutely quiet and peaceful place for those who want silence to focus on their books and business without interruption. Moreover, most of the money is used to supply books and raise the diversity of topics. As a result, paying to read the requested articles will provide consumers with more information and knowledge. On the other hand, the Internet now plays a vital role. Everything is available in a couple of seconds by pressing a few buttons, and there is no need to go searching for a book in a huge library with lots of books. As a result, the younger generations argue that libraries are unnecessary and old-fashioned and that individuals should not spend money on them because every book is available on the Internet. On the online searching web, people can also see the books ’ feedback that might be useful for them to find the good one. Thus, they do not need to waste their time on an underrated book. Otherwise, rather than waste money on a book that will be returned later, it will be easier and more cost-effective to buy a book and have unlimited access to it and read it over and over again whenever we want. To sum up, although the payment can be used to serve the consumers and give them an ideal place to relax and read various books with multiple topics, I think libraries seem to be useless as technology grows very fast and becomes more convenient for humans.