At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of young adults outnumbers the older population in several countries. There are more advantages than disadvantages in this circumstance. On the one hand, there are several shortcomings for countries that the number of young adults outnumbers the older population may experience. Firstly, older people may face higher job competition against young adults since companies tend to hire younger and less experienced employees to cut down on hiring costs. If this were the case, unemployment rates will increase for this segment of the population. Finally, fewer grandparents can take care of their grandchildren. In Taiwan, for example, grandparents usually take care of their grandchildren if their parents are away at work for long hours. Nonetheless, the advantages for countries with a larger proportion of young people counterbalance any possible drawbacks. The main benefit for them is a higher fatality rate in those countries due to a large number of young adults. Another advantage for countries like this is to have a vibrant workplace. The other advantage for countries with a large population of young adults may have more tax income and a longer duration of the economic boost. For instance, fewer old people means fewer people are going to retire, which means more people are working in the country. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages for countries with a larger number of young adults, the advantages outbalance them in this situation.