In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

It has been noticed in few areas of the United States to impose a curfew on the movements of adolescents at late hours unless and until they are accompanied by a guardian. In my,opinion this practice is stealing the freedom of a teenager to move freely in their own country at any time of the day or at night. This essay will further throw some light on the disadvantages of restricting the civil rights of freedom for their own young generation. To begin with, a developed country like the United States is considered a safe country where an individual can step out at any given point in time. Preventing people to outdoors without the guidance and presence of an adult is against basic human rights and is also in oppose to the rights mentioned in the US constitution. For instance, Denmark is considered one of the safest countries for an individual to reside in because of the presence of effective law enforcement. Moreover, this is the responsibility of the government and the authorities to make the surroundings safe for its citizens to move around without any hesitation. Furthermore, not letting a teen out at night will not be a solution to the problem stated instead the children should be given ample amount knowledge and understanding about the crimes from a very young age along with the basic self-defence training that is to be introduced in their curriculum. It is not necessary that a child’s parents are present with them, there can be instances where the parents are working during night shifts or are not available then this scenario should not restrict a teen’s movement at night especially in case of emergency. To conclude, in my opinion, teenagers should be allowed to go outdoors at night hours. They should be empowered with knowledge and basic skills to safeguard themselves and their rights of free movement along with the availability of a secure environment.