Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often claimed that modern life presents people with an overwhelming number of choices. I completely agree with this and tend to think that the Internet and globalisation are the two major factors involved. It is undeniable that the Internet has led to a dramatic expansion in the many choices that are available to us. The numerous online media, for instance, is now almost endless. There are countless websites offering entertainment, news, videos, on-demand TV and music streaming, many of which are free. I would argue that this abundance of media leads to confusion on the part of the average user, as we have to make so many decisions about the content that we consume. For example, people used to have just four TV channels in the 90s, whereas now we have access to thousands of films and series through services like Netflix. Alongside the influence of the Internet, globalisation is making the world smaller and compounding this problem of too much choice. Cheap international flights have made overseas travel possible for millions of people, but this also means that we are faced with a world of opportunities when deciding where to go on holiday or even where to live. We no longer have the limited but simple travel choices of our grandparents’ generation. The same is true if we look at the increasing tendency for young people to study abroad. While the opportunity for overseas study seems appealing, many students are confused about where to go and which path to take. In conclusion, thanks to online services and globalisation, we are faced with huge variants in most areas of life nowadays. I strongly believe that this is often more bewildering than beneficial as being overwhelmed with options could make people confused as to what to do in life.