In theie advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Currently, business owners often claim that their products are new in some aspects in their advertisements. This is mainly because they want to draw attention from their customers. From my perspective, this phenomenon should be seen as a negative development as individuals will generally focus on new goods and forget many traditional valuable items. The primary reason that a great number of new innovations are spotlighted in the advertisements is that it is a marketing strategy to allure more customers. In other words, every time when new products with new features are launched, people are always fascinated by that brand. Not only a particular item becomes popular but also other products under that brand attract more consumers. This is evident according to Diamon Grains, a food company, pointing out that when new flavours of snacks are introduced, other types of snacks under its brand receive more recognition as well. Nevertheless, emphasizing new characteristics of commodities in ads should be considered a negative development. This is because, in the long run, there will be no original products left to be seen since they are substituted by the latest developed items. Consequently, societies lost several precious goods. For instance, it is difficult to find traditional Thai desserts to eat in Bangkok. In contrast, boba tea, chocolate cake and Italian pudding are prevalent. In conclusion, numerous companies are trying to represent new features of their commodities in order to acquire consumers’ concentration. This action can cause catastrophic losses in cultural products. Thus, I believe that this is definitely a negative development.