Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

University education, where a young person moulds his future career, has always played a vital role in the progress of a nation. Few ethnic groups assume that access to tertiary education should be made free to all, by governments, rather than their financial background of them. However, I believe this will cause an extra burden to the responsibilities of governments. This essay will shed light on this notion with credible examples. First and foremost, education, one of the prime responsibilities that would be provided by governments to their citizens. If an individual receives the basic education, he could be able to get a career with it. For example, many governments and public sectors require only secondary level education for the positions available there. Secondly, further studies after secondary education seem to be optional and are very expensive. As a result, clearly, those who have real talent and extreme desire would go for it. For instance, Medical education requires five years; Engineering: 4 years and an awful lot of money. Had these expenses been incurred by the governments, there would have had more wastage of money which can be used for other useful purposes. Finally, governments provide grants and scholarships for those who are eligible, for others bank loans could be available. Consequently, they become more responsible and productive. To add to it, the governmental responsibilities are burgeoning. The resources at disposal of governments are limited. Conversely, in a democracy, the government has to ensure that people are able to enjoy their basic human rights. Helping people to get liberal loans is an example of how governments can fulfil their duties. To conclude, government-funded free higher education is impossible to realize since they have other welfare schemes to finance. It is recommended to provide other educational funding options to choose from which would do a good job.