Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

In some countries, the punishment for certain crimes is extremely severe. The convicted people might be penalized to be in jail for years. Some believe that they should be engaged in volunteering rather than just being kept locked up. I somewhat agree that getting them involved in such tasks can be beneficial to them and society. Firstly, it could assist them to overcome the horrifying memories of their past. In some places around the world, the jailed individuals are encouraged to join an outreach programme or work in libraries or teach poor children. Being engaged in such tasks assists them to keep their minds controlled and keep them away from the negative thoughts. Secondly, they can learn the importance of compassion and realize how wonderful it feels to contribute for betterment of mankind. Moreover, they can put efforts on becoming a better human being and can make progress to get back to lead a normal life with that experience. However, it might also be risky to trust the detainees with such tasks. It is required to provide them with proper mental training. For instance, anger management and counseling sessions should be conducted and it should be made sure that they are ready to face the world again. Also, it's extremely criucial critical to run a background check on them and so that they can be approached based on their terrible past and the intensity of criminal record. In other words, it's extremely necessary to ensure the safety of individuals around them so that they do not become a threat to the people. In conclusion, it's a marvelous thought to motivate such folks to get involved in social work as that could help them out to forget the feeling of captivity and be a better human being.