An increasing number of 18-year-olds are moving out of their parents' homes so they can live on their own after finishing high school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In some countries it is very common to stop living with parents early, while in others not. Since it is the most common to leave home around 24, some decide to start living independently much faster. In this essay, I will outline what I consider to be potential advantages of fleeing the nest early, as well as some of the negative outcomes. In terms of benefits, there are a few worth mentioning. Firstly, young people learn how to live independently as well as how to manage their own budget. Paying bills, taking care of money and doing shopping are just some of the new duties caused by moving away from parents. As a consequence of them, youths are becoming more mature and self-dependent and these attitudes are helpful in professional life. Also, for those growing up in problematic families, moving out is the only way to start a new life and to free themselves from toxic parents. Another pro is the fact, that having their own space, can make it easier to focus on studying or working for those who used to share small flats with other family members. There are, however, some drawbacks when it comes to leaving family house quickly. For instance, it can have detrimental effects on those, who are not mentally equipped to live on their own. Due to the necessity to struggle with many new things and lack of emotional support, many can feel overwhelmed and extremely lonely. Furthermore, flat rentals and bills are expensive, thus it is possible that tackling all expenses will become tremendously challenging for many students. In the worst-case scenario, serious financial problems and debts may arise. In conclusion, every adolescent needs to consider the pros and cons before deciding, whether to stay with their parents, or move out during studies. In spite of some drawbacks, I believe that the benefits of independent living outweigh the negative aspects.