In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this?Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Business advertisements of today normally specify that their products have been improved in one way or another. In general, competition in business has risen significantly rose over the years, thereby pushing companies to regularly brainstorm and strategize ways to stand out from the crowd to stay on top of their game. I have a strong view that this is a positive development that ultimately results in customer satisfaction because of the fierce competition that service providers face. Firstly, I think that updating products is a positive development as this allows companies to think outside the box thereby promoting excellent services to people. For instance, there are several companies that manufacture soft drinks due to competition within the industry these enterprises are forced to improve their products such as reducing the amount of sugar and using recyclable materials. Furthermore, when the business advertises these new features, consumers are impressed especially those that are health conscious or are concerned about the effects of littering, thus contributing to the effects of climate change. In contrast, most businesses are driven to achieve high-profit turnover consequently they must constantly upgrade and advertise their products so that they are appealing to the buyers, however, this is not in any way beneficial to their clients. For example, there is a yoghurt manufacturing company that often changes the packaging of their yoghurt to appear like a new product to lure more customers to purchase their yoghurt. In conclusion, I think it is a positive development to modify products, however, I am convinced that the products should add meaningful value to customers.