Serious crimes are decreasing in many parts of the world, other people feel that they are less safe today than any other time in the past. The main reason for this is the increased coverage of crimes in our media, and one key solution is to encourage media outlets to cover more positive stories.

Indeed, today, thanks to better law enforcement and legal remedies, serious crimes are decreasing in many parts of the world. However, people continue to feel less safe nowadays. One must agree, that one of the reasons for this is that the TRP hungry media continues to spew gory stories of crime and violence, to shock and garner higher viewership. Hence, sustained efforts are needed to present a balanced view of the world to all its citizens with more positive stories. Today, we live in a commercial age and, a sizable number of publishing outlets are vying for the attention of the same set of consumers. Besides, these channels are financed by advertisements and sponsorship. Thus, to grab the attention of the masses, the media outlets try their best to stun people with stories of crime, violence and grief. Open any news channel and, we can see the ticker tape filled with sensational stories. The broadcasters know, that, the common masses like such sensational and horrific news. There is statistical evidence, gathered by the TRP rating agencies, that such news garners more eyeballs, and, thus ensures greater advertisement funding. Several concerned NGOs have pointed out this anomaly, and so several governments and media guilds are trying their best to correct the situation. Hence, today several news channels and printing houses have special sections, which discuss positive, heart-warming stories. These sections are gathering a decent and increasing fan following. Also, nowadays, efforts are taken to hide the gruesome pictures and videos during the presentation, and social media outlets are debarred from distributing disturbing news. Thus, thanks to the efforts of several good samaritans, academicians and, conscious governments the news that we receive from several sources, are moderated and presented without sensationalism. At least, by the major responsible media giants who have a wider reach amongst the masses. This continuous encouragement of the media to balance the news has indeed been a boon to society.