In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a belief that all vehicles in the future will use autopilot technology, therefore there will be no human drivers, only passengers. I think that the benefits of this completely over shadow the drawbacks. To begin with, the main disadvantage of driverless vehicles is the lack of trust from people. Even with AI advancements, there is no doubt that most individuals will still choose to trust fellow humans over robots. Most of us are still very much uneducated with the technology behind AI, thus making us afraid of possible malfunctions that may occur during use, which may lead to fatal accidents. For instance, in recent times, there has been an artificial intelligence made for surgery procedures but the majority of people are filled with distrust and would rather the task be done by a surgeon. However, despite all the flaws, self-driving automobiles if done right, can provide us the convenience and safety we all desire. Children will be sent to school without a driver or parent, which can save a lot of time especially if they live far away. If all the cars on the road are driverless, there will be less accidents. Almost all car crashes are from the stupidity of us humans so having AI drive for us instead will lower the chances. For example, drunk driving, which is a prevalent cause of road deaths will no longer be relevant. In conclusion, although automated vehicles have their down sides, such as the distrust of people, I personally think that the convenience and safety that come with them outweigh the cons.