Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Excessive use of plastic has caused several environmental damages over the recent past. Hence, the world is turning to be unsafe day by day, for humans and animals. Nevertheless, governments should take prompt action to resolve this issue. This essay will elaborate on the impact of its usage and what can be done to mitigate these problems. To begin with, since they do not decay, natural resources such as soil and land is losing their value. Cultivation lands, for example, can not be maintained in good condition, due to the dumping of bags, bottles, and other materials. This leads to poor quality harvest and thereby negatively impact the wellbeing of the farmers. In addition, a plethora of animals are victims of plastic consumption. Whereas, cows eat plastic bags on the roads, creating several health complications. Hence, it causes harm to the environment as well as to the living kind. On the other hand, authoritative bodies can reduce the impact through laws and regulations. In France, for instance, plastic packaging of fruits and vegetables is prohibited in supermarkets. Further, measure like substituting plastic bags with paper bags is another option. Moreover, awareness programs can be introduced, to educate the general public about the danger of using plastic. Therefore, through effective,policies the harm created could be eliminated to a certain level. In conclusion, it can be said that even though its usage is harmful, and creates several difficulties, it cannot be completely abolished overnight. However, governments can take constructive measure to solve this issue, thus, make the world a better place.