Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

In recent times, people and companies are experiencing transport delays which are causing money loss. There are several factors that are affecting these delays and a few of them are over congestion of roads and natural calamities. This essay will discuss the above measures in detail and how we can further improve the situation to minimize these delays. The major factor affecting transport delays is overpopulation which is causing traffic jams. Traffic jams can occur due to various factors/reasons like accidents, narrow highways or unconstructed roads which leads to slower traffic. For example, in 2015, a minor accident on the highway 53 from San Diego to Los Angeles caused traffic congestion for hours. This caused travellers and companies major losses. Moreover, natural disasters like tsunamis and tornadoes are other factors that cause major transport delays. This results in loss of connectivity and transport delays in main cities or areas. There can be different ways to deal with the problem of transport delays in cities. To prevent delays people should use public transport like metro rails which save a lot of time as compared to travelling by own vehicle. Using shared vehicles for commute allows people to use fewer vehicles which then results in less traffic on roads. Also, Government should introduce effective schemes for those who carpool. For example, in the USA government has built HOV lanes for 2 plus people travelling in a car. This allows people to save time from traffic jams which cause delays. Furthermore, people should plan ahead of time which can prevent them from getting stuck due to bad weather. Hence, by following a few rules, the situation of delays can be improved. To sum up, the phenomenon of transport delays has been a serious issue in the era of increasing population. Thus, the quicker we address this issue, the better we can minimize the losses we are having from delays.