Some people believe that the activities of multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinational corporations are generally harmful.

It is often argued that the actions of huge global companies are beneficial to countries with developing economies, while others believe that these companies have some harmful impacts. In my opinion, although multinationals have some harmful impacts, overall, they have benefits for the societies in which they do business. A growing body of research suggests that multinational companies have a generally positive effect on the economies of developing regions. One key benefit is that international investment can help to create job opportunities for local people. Taking Turkey as an example, employees of multinational companies earn around 15% more than the staff of local companies. In addition, many international industries have a culture of paying extra money for their employees. These things can help local communities' economies to be better than the regular situations. However, there are also some negative sides that must be considered. One important issue is that multinational firms can take customers from local traders. This means that some local companies are likely to close down. For instance, global chains such as McDonald and Coca-Cola have a much larger budget for advertising, allowing them to increase their market share at expense of local restaurants and this effect can lead to low income for local businesses and, finally, they have to end the shops and being covered by large multinationals. In conclusion, while multinationals can benefit developing countries by creating jobs, they also threaten small businesses. In my opinion, despite having some negative impacts, I believe multinational corporations are generally beneficial for developing countries in terms of economies.