Today people are living longer so they should have to work longer. Do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the world have argued that people must do jobs for a long period because these days they are existing longer. This essay completely disagrees with the statement. In my opinion, people are not living a long life in this generation when compared to the past, at the same time it is not necessary that they have to work for an extended period of time throughout their living. This essay will discuss my views and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. Firstly, today many of us are leading a sedentary lifestyle which is unhealthy. This is to say that most of our existence is dependent on convenience foods that are rich in fat and salt which in turn causes serious health issues such as heart disease, obesity, and so on. Therefore, our lifespan has reduced significantly than in the past. For instance, many studies had proved that our overall lifespan had declined to 60 years. These days, it is uncommon to find people living in the age of '80s and '90s. In addition, due to this modern culture, people are not interested in hardworking jobs and they are more involved to perform smart jobs to earn a handsome income. Secondly, even though they live longer, they are no longer required to work for their survival. It is to say that most of them had their self-retirement pension plans that would send money for their needs to continue their living in old age. Furthermore, the government in many developed countries had introduced benefit systems for the senior people and unemployed masses which they could use to pay for their major life expenses. For example, some consensual reports had declared that 30% of residents were leading their life based on the state benefit system. As a result, it is no longer a requirement for people to work throughout their life. To conclude, an unhealthy lifestyle is not allowing civilians to live longer. Even though they live longer, it is not a need for them to work because of the government benefits which would support their living.