Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present day, whether universities contribute to a successful career rather than getting a job right away has sparked much debate. Some individuals assert that going to college produces more successful candidates, whereas many others argue that it is better to start one's work journey straight after graduating from high school. Personally, I am in favour of the former perspective. A convincing argument can be made that students attending universities are more likely to become successful in their lives. First and foremost, people who choose this pathway aim to become specialists in certain fields. To explain further, colleges provide opportunities for one to study in depth the subjects in which they are interested and for them to become experts in that pathway. For example, if people want to pursue their goals, a university will help its students be well-prepared for upcoming events. Moreover, colleges play an important role in helping individuals find out if they have made the right decision or not. This means that students have a chance to determine which pathways are right for them, using colleges as real-life simulations. Lastly, there are university communities that create spaces for students who have common interests to meet each other and exchange ideas. Specifically, this helps many people build their own connections during this period, which could benefit their careers in one way or another. I admit that getting a job straight away does have several benefits. In other words, people who pursue a career without continuing on an educational route will take less time to succeed because they start this journey earlier than others, and there are also groups of people who do not have the chance to study at university due to a lack of support but who have done a great job in their careers too because they have been learning from their past experiences. Even so, this way is tougher compared to the previous route because they cannot learn from others' mistakes, and no one can guide them unlike taking courses at university, so they need to face real-life situations to be able to learn from their own experiences, as it is called "no pains, no gains." Consequently, the benefits of getting a job straight after school are quite limited. In summary, I would concede that getting a job straight after school has some advantages. Despite that, attending universities certainly helps individuals pursue their future goals in a much better way. Overall, I am convinced that people should apply to universities.