Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Some people believed that domestic waste recycling is low and imposing strict rules by the government is the only way to increase it. I think that there are a lot of methods that can be used to solve this issue and legal restriction is not the only way. On the one hand, humans are creatures of habit and prefer to carry on their duties as simply as possible unless they are forced to change their ways. The main reason behind people ’s reluctance to recycle is that the process of recycling is sophisticated and time-consuming; so, people do not want to put time and energy to categorize the waste based on the materials therefore so many people simply throw all their rubbish away in the same bin. Implementing rules can force people to change their ways and in most cases if there is a huge fine for not obeying the rules, the regulation will be followed very soon. On the other hand, recycling is a complex and time-consuming process that needs full cooperation from residents. Government can encourage people to do it in different ways. First, the process should be simplified as much as possible. For example, special containers for different materials should be allocated to each family for free, in order to encourage them to categorize their recycled waste from general ones. Secondly, the government should educate people of different ages about the recycling process and knowing different waste based on their materials. Furthermore, giving some rewards to people who have the most domestic recycled waste from local authorities can have a positive impact on other people and motivate them in this process. In conclusion, I believe that the most effective ways to increase recycling are encouraging people by simplifying the task and raising their knowledge about how they can effectively do the process and giving them rewards. In my view, implementing strict rules may lead to noticeable changes in a short run but it should be used as a last resort when all other approaches have failed.