Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Bicycles as a form of transportation are becoming less common even though they are beneficial for our health and the environment. This essay will discuss the reasons why this is occurring and suggest some possible solutions to deal with this trend. To begin with, exploring the causes of the decline in bike riding is crucial before discussing how to resolve this problem. The main reason for the reduction is the dangerous circumstances surrounding us. To illustrate, there are no specific pathways that cyclists can run without any interruptions in many counties like Japan. This means that they have to use the same road as cars and there are no sideways for bicycle riders. Therefore, motor vehicles get close to bike riders in order to take over the riders, which scares them and make them feel dangerous. In addition to this, the number of vehicles has been drastically increasing, making people less likely to choose a bicycle for their transport as it is way more dangerous than other modes of transportation. However, there are some notions that could help us stop the trend of the plummet of bike users. This can be divided into two main roles, the government and the community. As discussed above, the modification of major roads under the government responsibility, so that cyclists can ride a bike safely and comfortably, can be a prior solution. Once residents know that using a bike is not only safe but also convenient, they will begin to use it again. Furthermore, the community can provide the public with the opportunities to familiarise cycling, for instance, by holding bicycle tours. This could also encourage more people to ride a bicycle. In conclusion, the reduction of cyclists was mainly led by the dangerous environment due to the increased number of cars and thus, the solution can be the transformation of the roads to more bike rider-friendly ones.