People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Drug addiction is one of the greatest challenges that humans are facing ever in the history of mankind. In modern societies, more and more adolescents are trying both legal and illegal drugs which pose dire consequences. The below essay outlines the cause and ill effects of drugs and suggestions to fight against this menace. These are several factors that influence youth to consume narcotics however research shows that parents who get into illicit relationships, influence their children into bad company and further get addicted to it without their knowledge. As a result of, this there are devastating consequences on their health, family and society. On a personal level overdose leads to psychological problems as they tend to get into a trance and it takes a lot of effort and counselling to come out of it. Additionally, in the long run, they tend to become physically weak due to low appetite, which consequently deprives the body of proteins and carbohydrates. On other hand, the constant urge to take illegal substances motivates people to commit heinous crimes for money and women are pushed into prostitution, as a consequence of this downward spiral one may get into suicidal tendencies. To sum up, it's the responsibility of Government and Enforcement agencies to curb this menace, stricter laws should be framed, not only peddlers but also masterminds behind this, additionally federal bodies should focus on increasing rehabilitation centres to help citizens withdraw completely and provide employment or grant incentives to start business and sustain themselves post-recovery.